home add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up chat-bubble close credit-card drag facebook film load monitor person play remove resume search share trash twitter

HIGH-RISE

HIGH-RISE
1:06:44 | 2009

Categories: Arts and Culture

What does it mean to own a penthouse apartment in poverty-plagued Brazil?

HIGH-RISE (Um Lugar ao Sol) examines this topic in a hypnotic and revealing examination, blending interviews with nine penthouse residents, owners of enviable killer views of Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo and Recife, and a look from below, an overcrowded world that seems to be building on every square inch of land, with nowhere to go but up.

This feature-length documentary presents an analysis of the dominant Brazilian class through dialogue. Each resident opens up their home to reveal their thoughts on social inequality, politics, and the world that surrounds them, as well as discussing their intimate desires, fears, insecurities, prejudices and personal histories.

Through these interviews and a poetic visual and sound narrative, HIGH-RISE provides an evocative insight into the "verticalization" of the Brazilian cityscape, deepening our understanding of what drives people to live in penthouses.

HIGH-RISE is a film about height, status and power that questions the elite in a way never before shown in Brazilian cinema.

More

Reviews: A+ 3 Fans
· A · · B · · C · · D · F
Grade This Film
Your Grade: Not Graded
Click to Regrade

Comments

r********m
March 26, 2016
FULL MOVIE BOX OFFICE 720p FULL Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/209112/batman-v-superman-dawn-of-justice.html The Divergent Series: Allegiant Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/262504/the-divergent-series-allegiant.html 10 Cloverfield Lane Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/333371/10-cloverfield-lane.html Gods of Egypt Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/205584/gods-of-egypt.html Open Season: Scared Silly Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/382517/open-season-scared-silly.html The Witch Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/310131/the-witch.html Pee-Wee's Big Holiday Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/347689/pee-wee-s-big-holiday.html Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Sword of Destiny Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/263341/crouching-tiger-hidden-dragon-sword-of-destiny.html Frankenstein Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/337029/frankenstein.html The Love Inside Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/388971/the-love-inside.html Miracles from Heaven Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/339984/miracles-from-heaven.html Triple 9 Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/146198/triple-9.html My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/302688/my-big-fat-greek-wedding-2.html Grimsby Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/267193/grimsby.html Short Fuse Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/314076/short-fuse.html The Confirmation Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/347881/the-confirmation.html Les Visiteurs: La Révolution Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/248705/les-visiteurs-la-ra-c-volution.html High-Rise Full Movie Click Here=>> http://pesona.online/movie/254302/high-rise.html

Reply

Delete

a********a
October 21, 2013
A+

Reply

Delete

o********m
August 21, 2013
A

Reply

Delete